Hungary and the Czech Republic

Below are Georgi and my photos from Vienna, Budapest and Prague. The rain followed us from Salzburg to Vienna, and this time it did dampen our spirits. We mustered up all the strength we had and powered through the city, but by midday, we were on the verge of a breakdown and decided to jump on a train to Budapest in hope of finding warmer weather. Thankfully, we found what we were looking for! Budapest was showing off when we arrived. There was a beautiful rainbow and warm sun when we stepped out of the Metro station. We dropped our bags off at the hostel and set out for a walk along the river before the sun set. There was a new energy running through us. I think it was a mix of the change in weather and the fact that we were in “the homeland”. Over the next few days, Georgi and I enjoyed some traditional Hungarian food, visited the Széchenyi baths and hiked to the liberty statue for an amazing view of Budapest. The only thing we could not fit into our schedule was caving- as I like to say, “I guess that means we have to go back!”.

Prague was just as charming as Budapest, but it didn’t quite have the same energy. It was amazing, but a bit more touristy (and much more expensive!). Georgi and I both agreed that Budapest was our favorite city (cities? Buda-Pest) of the three. All in all, we had a great trip. I am so glad we had that time together. We created special memories that I will cherish for a lifetime. Love ya, G!

Leave a comment